Slider

Forthcoming Events

(The downloads on this page are either in pdf format or as a Word (.docx) document. Ipad users will require a separate App from the App Store to read Word documents. Word documents have been included to make it easier for you to complete the forms)

Please note details of how to apply for events will appear on this web site approximately 6 weeks before the event.

All those who join will be offered a warm and friendly welcome into The Company of Nurses and there are many opportunities for Freemen to meet other members of the Company. A wide range of social activities are organised throughout the year for Freemen and their guests. Functions are held many in venues that are not readily accessible by members of the public, some within the great Livery halls of the City of London.

Freedom Ceremonies

Freedom ceremonies will be held periodically throughout the year when new applicants will have the opportunity to be granted Freedom of the Company. Freedom of the Company is a privilege that is conferred for life and demonstrates your commitment to The Company of Nurses. These ceremonies will be advertised below and will usually be followed by a reception which is open to all Freemen and their guests.

If you are interested in applying to become a Freeman of The Company of Nurses, please go to the Joining our Company page of this website and complete a Membership Application form

--

2021

Please note that all dates may be subject to change due to Covid-19 restrictions.

--

Thursday 15th April 7pm

An evening of interactive Cheese Tasting

We are delighted to be holding an interactive virtual cheese tasting, with the cheeses delivered to your home prior to the event! Along with a talk about cheese from a Sussex cheese producer, we will be tasting six of their best British cheeses. The event will last approximately one hour and twenty minutes.

The cost for the evening is £45 which includes: a hamper of cheese delivered to your door, the talk, and a small donation to The Company of Nurses. A hamper will be easily large enough for two people leaving enough left over for consuming in the following few days.

Please complete the application form here [Word] [pdf] and email it to events@companyofnurses.co.uk by 5th April.

--

Wednesday 5th May

Annual Assembly

In lieu of the Anniversary Banquet the Annual Assembly of the Company of Nurses has been re-scheduled for Wednesday 5th May. All Freemen of the Company will receive an invitation by email to attend the Annual Assembly.

Tuesday 11 May

Festival Service of the Clergy Support Trust, St Paul’s Cathedral

Wednesday 12 May

Florence Nightingale Commemorative Service, Westminster Abbey

Friday 21 May

United Guilds Service, St Paul’s Cathedral

Event postponed. New date to be confirmed

Wednesday 9 June

Visit to Fan Museum, Greenwich and afternoon tea

Event postponed to 2022. New date to be confirmed

Wednesday 23 June

Education and Professional Development Event

Saturday 10 July

City Walk

Wednesday 21 July

Tour of The Charterhouse and gardens followed by tea and cake

Event postponed to 2022. New date to be confirmed

Wednesday 1 September

Visit to West Norwood Cemetery, one of the most magnificent in London

Saturday 18 & Sunday 19 September

Embley Park Weekend which will include a black tie dinner in Florence Nightingale’s childhood home and a visit to the family church at East Wellow.

Event postponed to 2022. New date to be confirmed

Sunday 26 September

Sheep Drive across London Bridge

Wednesday 6 October

Education and Professional Development Event

Wednesday 13 October

The Company of Nurses Annual Church Service

Saturday 23 October 

City Walk

Saturday 13 November

The Lord Mayor’s Show

Thursday 18 November

Black tie dinner at Barber-Surgeons’ Hall

Thursday 25 November

Visit to the newly refurbished Poppy Factory in Richmond

--

2022 

--

W/C 21 February

Visit to Fishmongers Hall with lunch

W/C 7 March 

Freedom Ceremony and afternoon tea, Guildhall

W/C 21 March

Visit to The Ceremony of the Keys with supper

Wednesday 30 March

Education and Professional Development Event

Friday 1 April

United Guilds Service, St Paul’s Cathedral

Thursday 28 April

Court Meeting and Annual Assembly of the Company of Nurses

Wednesday 4 May (date now confirmed)

Anniversary Banquet

Anniversary Banquet, Vintners’ Hall